Official Full Name: Republic of Yemen

Region: Middle East

Capital: Sana’a (de jure, Occupied by Houthi Government) Aden (Provisional)

Population: 26,737,317

Ethnic Groups: Predominantly Arabs, but also South-Asians, Afro-Arabs, and Europeans

Languages: Arabic (Official)

Religions: Muslim 99.1% (official; virtually all are citizens, an estimated 65% are Sunni and 35% are Shia), other 0.9%

Government: Disputed

Legislature: House of Representatives


A. Yemeni Crisis and Civil War

Type of Conflict: Revolution and Civil War

Conventionally Dated Period: Start of Crisis in 2011, Civil War 19 March 2015 – Present

Parties Involved:

  • Yemen (Revolutionary Committee)
    • Alleged support from Hezbollah, Iran, and Eritrea
  • Yemen (Hadi Governemnt)
    • Southern Movement
    • Saudi-Arabian Led Coalition
      • Saudi Arabia, UAE, Bahrain, Kuwait, Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Qatar, Senegal, Sudan
      • Support by Somalia and the USA
  • Ansar Al-Sharia
    • Support by Al-Shabaab
    • Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant


The Yemeni Crisis started in 2011 as a revolutionary force to overthrow President Abdullah Saleh who ruled Yemen for over a decade.  The former vice president, Abd Rabbuh Mansur Hadi, failed to form a strong unified government and fend of al-Qaeda and Houthi rebel forces from the North.  Hadi then resigned amongst insurgency from all sides.  In 2014 the Houthis took control of the capital city of Sana’a and the Hadi government fled to Aden, Yemen’s second largest city.

On 22 March 2015, the Houthi forces conducted offensive operations in the Taiz governorate and captured Taiz, Mocha, and Lahij within three days.  On the same day, Hadi escaped to the Saudi Arabian capital of Riyadh as coalition forces began conducting air strikes.  As of 2 May, 400 civilians have died due to the fighting in Aden alone.

Peace Process: No