South Sudan

South Sudan






Official Full Name: Republic of South Sudan

Region: Eastern-Central Africa

Capital: Juba

Population: 12,042,910

Ethnic Groups: 35.8% Dinka, 15.6% Nuer, 48.6% Shilluk, Azande, Bari, Kakwa, Kuku, Murle, Mandari, and other local tribes.

Languages: English (Official), Arabic, and Regional Languages

Religions: Animist, Christian

Government: Republic

Legislature: National Legislature


A. South Sudanese Civil War

Type of Conflict: Civil War, Ethnic Conflict

Conventionally Dated Period: 15 December 2013 – Present

Parties Involved:

  • Sudan People’s Liberation Movement Government
    • Uganda
    • United Nations Mission in South Sudan
  • Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-In-Opposition
    • Nuer White Army


The conflict began at the National Liberation Council meeting where the opposition leaders Dr. Riek Machar, Pagan Amum, and Rebecca Nyandeng voted to boycott the meeting.  As a measure of precaution, President Salva Kiir ordered all the troops regardless of ethnicity to be disarmed immediately.  After disarmament, Major General Marial Ciennoung supposedly instructed the Dinka soldiers to rearm, while his deputy of the Nuer tribe questioned his motives.  Clashes broke out after soldiers witnessed the exchange between the two. Full scale violence occurred afterwards when the Dinka factions of the SPLM targeted Nuer civilians on the streets of the capital city, Juba.

Peace Process: No